Twitter

23/05/22

Children can pick up a free healthy packed lunch from libraries and leisure centres during the May half-term, excluding the bank holidays. There's no need to register beforehand, just come along. Locations and serving times at https://t.co/yODJSl35al https://t.co/mf7naxlcZT

19/05/22

This week our primary team competed in the 3v3 Bexley borough finals with the winners representing Bexley at . The team performed excellently to win the event with scores of 8-0, 16-0 and 8-0 in the final. https://t.co/Q9ZyZiGz5X

17/05/22

We're pleased to support 2022 at Harris Garrard Academy! https://t.co/TLmeHs0kvw

11/05/22

Students celebrate their success in the Scholars Programme, with a graduation ceremony at SOAS University of London. They studied peace, conflict & gender with a PhD scholar and wrote 1500-word essays. We are very proud of our scholars! https://t.co/MXb09flSML https://t.co/sbEGwdXhxb

09/05/22

Harris Garrard's Tag rugby team participated in their second mini-league event. They performed excellently winning 7-3 and 5-1, and we look forward to the final event in a few weeks time https://t.co/qZH9MGyDCI

25/04/22

Harris Garrard's girls rugby team competed in Kent schools' tournament recently. They were fantastic, making it all the way to the final. It was great to see over 100 primary school girls engaging in tag . Well done team! https://t.co/604C3oIxaW https://t.co/uInmW6vSMN

12/04/22

Year 7 pick up litter in for 's campaign. Thank you to , who loaned us litter-picking equipment and removed the rubbish we collected. V proud of our students! https://t.co/jbHoBhXSUb https://t.co/haVXd36kEB

28/03/22

"Something wicked this way comes..." Today, our Year 11s were treated to a trip to The Globe to see a performance of their GCSE English Literature text, Shakespeare's Macbeth! https://t.co/8HvFI7zprG

28/03/22

Our Year 1 & 2s really enjoyed taking part in the football festival. The teams had great fun, scoring lots of goals and using teamwork. Thank you to for organising and we look forward to their next event! https://t.co/mBOIcXoXSI

24/03/22

Today, Year 8 supported by the humanities department, enjoyed a day on the Thames, taking in London’s most famous landmarks. Staff and students enjoyed playing guess the landmark and waving to tourists. https://t.co/3l3kmbA5B9

24/03/22

Year 9 A-Side are enjoying the sunshine and learning about plants at RHS Wisley for their 4th Character Day of the year! https://t.co/1doMnUQ0HI

23/03/22

Our Easter Holiday 'Listening Ear' drop-in sessions are for all HGA parents and students (primary, secondary and Sixth Form). Come along on Weds 6th April (9am-1pm) and Weds 13th April (9am-1pm) if you fancy a chat with our staff or need some support. We'd love to see you. https://t.co/OzvQFwWkwM

22/03/22

Last Friday, we were visited by a very special member of the community, Abena Oppong-Asare, our local MP and Shadow Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury. "She shared her journey into politics with us and was truly an inspiration," said Head Student, Daniella. https://t.co/qiBHvsquUX

21/03/22

Retweetd From Consejería de Educación Reino Unido e Irlanda

"It was great to meet the students from years 5 and 6 at Primary School who participated in the Spanish Workshop “Los detectives culturales” ¡Enhorabuena chic por el gran trabajo! https://t.co/PL9AbR75HF

21/03/22

Year 12 students making the most of the sun, and their dedicated outside area, during their mindfulness hour last Friday. https://t.co/ukoe04wjLM

17/03/22

Harris Garrard had their first tag rugby mini-tournament this week. They put their learning from our PE lessons to good use winning both games, 5-2 and 4-2. Everyone had great fun and we look forward to the next one! https://t.co/b3AVIkaxMW

15/03/22

Last week our boys played a cup fixture against Fairford Academy. After a great match in wet conditions, we came out on top winning 5-2. Harris Garrard now progresses to play Danson Primary in the semi-finals. https://t.co/O73EvP5LkJ

06/03/22

AC Slater from the Jack Petchey Speak Out Challenge came to HGA last week to support KS4 students in writing passionate speeches! https://t.co/C0mDFf03VX

06/03/22

We welcomed author for and he delivered some fantastic workshops for budding KS3 writers https://t.co/39oT7gx2lD

03/03/22

Retweetd From Bexley School Games

A great effort from all involved https://t.co/3l2DW2TD4O

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Harris Garrard Academy provides a free education for students of all abilities. However, the governors reserve the right to charge for some things, such as musical instrument tuition and trips, and full details can be found in the charging policy below.

Parents can request paper copies of any information provided on the website free of charge. Please contact the school for this to be arranged.


Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found further down the page. If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to Steve West, Head of Academy. Please contact:

Julie Timmins (PA to Head of Academy)

Email: j.timmins@harrisgarrard.org.uk

Telephone: 020 8320 4800

If your complaint is about the Head of Academy please contact Mr Everitt, Assistant Director, Secondary Education. If the complaint is about the Assistant Director, please contact the Harris Federation.


Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 

Details of executive pay can be found on the financial information page of the Harris Federation website.

Back to Key Information